President appoints CIO boss, Perm Secs

President Emmerson Mnangagwa

President Emmerson Mnangagwa

Chronicle Reporter
PRESIDENT Emmerson Mnangagwa has, with immediate effect, appointed Ambassador Isaac Moyo to the position of Director General of the Central Intelligence Organisation (CIO).

He replaces Retired Major General Happyton Bonyongwe who retired from the position two months ago after being appointed Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs.

In a statement last night, the Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet, Dr Misheck Sibanda,  said Cde Moyo, who was serving as Zimbabwe’s Ambassador to the Republic of South Africa and the United Kingdom of Lesotho, had been appointed in terms of Section 226, sub-section (1) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe.

President Mnangagwa has also appointed and re-assigned permanent secretaries following the setting up of a new government and the appointment of Cabinet ministers.

The appointments and re-assignments are as follows:
-Mr Ringson Chitsiko — Lands, Agriculture and Rural Resettlement
-Mr Martin Rushwaya — Defence, Security and War Veterans
-Mr Melusi Matshiya — Home Affairs and Culture
-Mr Willard Manungo — Finance and Economic Development
-Ambassador Joey Bimha — Foreign Affairs and International Trade
-Mrs Virginia Mabiza — Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs
-Mr Ngoni Masoka — Labour and Social Welfare
-Dr Desire Sibanda — Higher Education, Science and Technology Development
-Dr Sylvia Utete-Masango — Primary and Secondary Education
-Mr George Magosvongwe — Local Government, Public Works and National Housing
-Mrs Abigail Shonhiwa — Industry,  Commerce and Enterprise Development
-Mr Munesu Munodawafa — Mines and Mining Development
-Dr Thokozile Chitepo — Tourism and Hospitality Industry
-Mrs Sibusisiwe Zembe — Women and Youth Affairs
-Mr George Charamba — Information, Media and Broadcasting Services
-Brigadier General Dr Gerald Gwinji — Health and Child Care
-Mr Prince Mupazviriho — Sport, Arts and Recreation
-Engineer Sam Kundishora — Information Communication Technology and Cyber Security
-Ambassador Grace Mutandiro — Environment, Water and Climate
-Dr Judith Kateera — Presidential Affairs, Monitoring and Implementation of Government Programmes
-Engineer George Mlilo — Transport and Infrastructural Development

Article Source: The Chronicle