8 CCC councillors take oath in Bulawayo after party’s clean sweep

BULAWAYO – The City of Bulawayo on Monday swore-in eight Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) councillors after they won by-elections on March 26.

Seven of the eight had been recalled as councillors by the MDC-T party, while one – Mpumelelo Moyo – upstaged the previous incumbent in ward 26.

Moyo and the seven returnees Edwin Ndlovu (ward 8), Donaldson Mabutho (ward 9), Lilian Mlilo (ward 12), Councilia Mlalazi (ward 20), Christopher Dube (ward 19), Earnest Rafomoyo (ward 20) and Tinevimbo Maposa (ward 21) took their oath of office at the council chambers watched by their families.

Bulawayo mayor Solomon Mguni called for unity of purpose from the all councillors.

“I’m reminded that for the first that we are going to have a multi-party chamber, the first such diverse chamber in probably 20 years,” Mguni said.

“I must hasten and say there is no minority or majority, what we see here are the councillors of the City of Bulawayo who are elected to serve our people. We call for unity in the cockpit as the leadership group. The chairpersons of the committees are here and we will serve everyone equally and equitably.”

Councillor Dube said the local government ministry must support councils so that they carry out their mandate effectively.

“Residents want to see things being done differently and we need a good relationship with our parent ministry so that we all work for the development of the city. What we need is funding so that we are able to attend to various challenges facing our wards,” he said.

Councillor Moyo said: “Our roads are in bad state and refuse collection is a challenge. All this is due to the fact that our ratepayers are struggling to pay rates, and with reason too, the unemployment among our people is a major problem.

“Despite these challenges our people have confidence that as their elected representatives we will make a difference.”

The election of the eight has left the city with two vacancies in ward 3 and ward 24.

In ward 3, former deputy mayor Tinashe Kambarami won a court order stopping an election pending the outcome of his court challenge to being recalled.

In ward 24, Arnold Batirai Dube was recalled after the March 26 by-elections. He has also gone to the High Court to challenge the recall.

The City of Bulawayo has 29 wards.

Enjoyed this post? Share it!